top of page

Headlands Arts San Francisco 9.9.-26.10.2020

Artist in Residence at Headlands Center for the Arts in 2020



Headlands Friends, 2020 is barely underway and already it’s been a busy year. We recently wrapped up “Palliative Care Futures and Psychedelic Medicines,” the first of three planned Thematic Residencies—short-term intensives during which we bring together artists alongside activists, scientists, policy makers and other experts in the field to explore the most pressing issues of our time. On the heels of that, we opened Tomorrow Is Already Here, an exhibition of works from participants in Headlands’ previous Thematic Residencies on climate change and climate equity. In a time of what feels like unprecedented global challenges, it’s fitting that we greeted the year head-on, tackling these issues the best way we know how—through the vision and voices of artists. To that end, I’m so excited to share with you the 2020 Artists in Residence. This year we’ll be welcoming powerful tellers of truth, builders of new community futures, chroniclers of stories both personal and universal, and creators of aesthetically-driven work that is pushing the boundaries of their medium. Headlands has always known that artists see things differently, and that these perspectives are a crucial component in shaping a more equitable and sustainable future. We are honored to host and support these visionaries, and invite you to join us in congratulating all of the 2020 Artists in Residence: Awards for Artists: Chamberlain Award for social practice: Arquitectura Expandida Supports artists who display exceptional merit in the discipline of social practice with a fully sponsored residency and a 10,000 USD cash prize. Chiaro Award for painting: Anna Betbeze A fully sponsored residency and 15,000 USD cash prize for an accomplished mid-career painter residing in the United States. The Gardner Planetary Health Award: Jan Mun A fully sponsored residency and 10,000 USD cash prize that recognizes an artist whose practice demonstrates an ongoing interest in exploring natural systems and planetary health. McLaughlin Children’s Trust Award: Patricia Evangelista Supports an exemplary writer with a fully sponsored residency and a 10,000 USD cash prize. McLaughlin Foundation Award: Carolyn Yarnell Recognizes an established artist with a clear dedication to their practice and a substantial body of work with a fully sponsored residency and a 10,000 USD cash prize. VBC Artist Award: Anja Ulfeldt A fully sponsored artist residency and a 10,000 USD cash prize that recognizes a Bay Area-based artist with a clear dedication to their practice. Project Space Residencies: Autumn Ahn, Andreas Johansson, Rindon Johnson, Ramekon O’Arwisters, Genevieve Quick, WangShui These artists will host open studio hours and a culminating Project Space installation during their stay. Complete list of 2020 Artists in Residence by discipline: Architecture/Environment: Erin Besler & Ian Besler, New Jersey Arts Professional: Brian Droitcour, New York Film/New Media/Video: David de Rozas, Spain, California / Hu Liwei, China / Tiona Nekkia McClodden, Pennsylvania Interdisciplinary: Navild (niv) Acosta, New York / Autumn Ahn, Massachusetts / Charlotte Brathwaite, New York / Pia Camil, Mexico / Danielle Dean, California / S.J Norman, Australia / taisha paggett, California / Genevieve Quick, California / Anja Ulfeldt, California Music/Sound: Lea Bertucci, New York / Shinobu Eto, Japan / Marc Vilanova, Catalonia / Carolyn Yarnell, California Performance/Dance: Morgan Bassichis, New York / Nichole Canuso, Pennsylvania / Rashaun Mitchell & Silas Riener, New York / Will Rawls, New York Social Practice: Arquitectura Expandida, Colombia / Jan Mun, New York Visual Art: Anna Betbeze, California / Matthew Connors, New York / Kenturah Davis, Connecticut / Modupeola Fadugba, Nigeria / Andreas Johansson, Sweden / Rindon Johnson, Germany / Sahar Khoury, California / Ramekon O’Arwisters, California / Campbell Patterson, New Zealand / Boryana Rusenova Ina, Ohio / Jaro Varga, Czech Republic / WangShui, New York Writing: Marta Bausells, Spain, United Kingdom / Patricia Evangelista, Philippines / Mary Grimm, Ohio / tanea lunsford lynx, California / Lara Mimosa Montes, Minnesota / Laura Mullen, Louisiana / Nami Mun, Illinois / Suzanne Rivecca, California / Jocelyn Saidenberg, California / Mmakgosi Anita Tau, Botswana You’ll have a chance to experience the work of these artists at our seasonal Open Houses (April 19, July 19, and October 18), regular Sunday Suppers, Members Dinners, studio visits, and offsite programming throughout the year. For the latest, be sure to check out our content-rich e-communications, and follow us on social media (@headlandsarts). 2020 also marks some changes on Headlands’ Board of Directors. An immense thank you to Drusie Davis for her leadership as Board Chair the past four years, and a warm welcome to Robin Strawbridge, our incoming Board Chair. I’d also like to acknowledge Chris Deam, Erin Hastings, and David Maisel, who are cycling off the Board this year, and Promit Bhattacharya, Brook Lane, Leti Light, Sam Tripodi, and Ellie Wehlen, who have newly joined. Whether coming or going, once a part of the Headlands family always a part of the Headlands family, and we’re so grateful for the passion and dedication shown by all our Board members past and present. And finally, I’d like to express my deep gratitude to all the supporters whose generosity makes Headlands’ work possible. Thank you so much. Here’s to 2020!


Sharon Maidenberg

Recent Posts
bottom of page